2015 Winner

Mosman Art Prize

24 July 2015

‘Painting 131 (North Coogee)’ has won the illustrious $30,000 Mosman Art Prize against a competitive field of 104 finalists.

2015 guest judge of the Mosman Art Prize was Michael Rolph (CEO, Museums and Galleries NSW).

The Mosman Art Prize is the longest continuously running municipal art prize in Australia and has a rich tradition of fostering emerging and established artist.

Katrina Cashman, Mosman Art Prize Coordinator and Senior Curator, commented on Jones’ work: “Alan Jones is one of the most interesting artists of his generation and his artwork Painting 131 (North Coogee) will make a very strong statement within the Mosman Art Collection.”

The Mosman Art Prize is an annual, acquisitive award for painting sponsored by Mosman Municipal Council. Established in 1947, the Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious, local government art awards in Australia.
The winning works form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary art, reflecting developments in Australian art practice over the last half a century.

Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson and Guan Wei. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

The Mosman Art Prize is administered by the Mosman Art Gallery.

Mosman Art Prize

25 July – 30 August 2015
Mosman Art Gallery

Painting by Australian artist Alan Jones titled 'Painting 131 (North Coogee)' wins the 2015 Mosman Art Prize

‘Painting 131 (North Coogee)’, 2015, acrylic on linen, 117.5cm x 112.5cm

Share this Post