‘Painting 131 (North Coogee)’ wins Mosman Art Prize 2015

Painting by Australian artist Alan Jones titled 'Painting 131 (North Coogee)' wins the 2015 Mosman Art Prize
'Painting 131 (North Coogee)', 2015, acrylic on linen, 112.5cm x 117.5cm

Mosman Art Prize

‘Painting 131 (North Coogee)’ wins the 2015 Mosman Art Prize.

Guest judge of the 2015 Mosman Art Prize was Michael Rolfe (Chief Executive Officer, Museums & Galleries NSW).

In the Mosman Art Prize 2015 Judge’s Report, Michael Rolfe writes:

First prize was awarded to Alan Jones. His work has always interested me for its discordant approach to colour, shapes and texture used. But more than that I find his painting quite distinctive and representative of a way of seeing that gives me confidence in his picture making. Painting 131 (North Coogee) will prove to be a strong addition to the Mosman Collection. Jones has been quoted as saying ‘some paintings can happen in half an hour’, but obviously that’s not always the case. For me judging usually takes a while, but not in this instance. I knew I had found the winner as soon as I saw the work.

Michael Rolfe

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia’s oldest and most prestigious local government art award. It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work.

Over the past sixty-eight years, the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. It regularly attracts over 900 entries annually and currently offers over $60,000 in prizes.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Mosman Art Gallery Collection

‘Painting 131 (North Coogee)’ has been acquired by the Mosman Art Gallery Collection as the winner of the 2015 Mosman Art Prize.

The Mosman Art Prize is an acquisitive award. All winning artworks have been collected since 1947, forming an important collection of modern and contemporary Australian art. The Mosman Art Gallery Collection uniquely reflects the developments in Australian art since 1947.

Mosman Art Prize
25 July – 30 August 2015
Mosman Art Gallery
1 Art Gallery Way
Mosman, NSW, 2088

Link to: Mosman Art Gallery